Thoughts on Starbucks’ “un-Christian” Cups Controversy

When I first heard about the controversy I was shocked that far Right Christians cared more about what was on their cups than helping the needy. But at the same time it didn’t surprise because some of these crazy Christians do belong to churches that have not really cared about the needy but only themselves and their personal salvation that is based on hating others, prayer, and going to church. Shallow Christianity if you ask me. So, I wrote a piece about the warped view that this vocal minority of radical Christians had of their “Christian” faith. After I posted my blog I began to notice that there were several different reactions to the “controversy”. 1. Poked fun at it and the so called “Christians” and their anger at anti-Christmas cups 2. Spoke out against the “Christians” and how they were falling short of their faith and 3. Get angry at the people who were angry at the radical Christians. I fell into category 1 and 2.

After I spent a day thinking about the “controversy” I started to find it quite hilarious after cracking jokes with friends on Facebook and at the office. And I cannot forget about all the comedians who are making the “controversy” laughable like Ellen Degeneres, Trevor Noah of the Daily Show and I can only imagine what Saturday Night Live will do with the “controversy” this Saturday night. As for my office, well, some of us had fun going to Starbucks, ordering hot drinks, and emailing a photo of our cups to everyone in the office with witty comments like: discount on all holiday drinks

Yes, I was angry at the vocal minority of Christians who were offended by a lack of “Christian or Christmas” imagery on their Starbucks coffee cups because, well, their more about material things than they do about social outcasts. Two, I was angry that the minority of radical, vocal Christians continuously give my faith a bad name and have effectively hijacked it. And, three, the radical minority of vocal Christians are hell bent on forcing their form of Christianity onto everyone else in this country and the Starbucks cup controversy seemed to be the latest one. So I spoke out on social media via my blog to say that my Christian faith was not anything like theirs, and, in fact, it is the opposite. I am much more offended by people being hated for who they are. So I had to say something so that people would know that the vast majority of Christians don’t agree with the Starbucks cup hating Christians.

After I spent a day thinking abut the ridiculous “controversy” I found the “controversy” to be quite hilarious with all the jokes I was cracking with friends on Facebook and at the office. And I cannot forget about all the comedians who are making fun of the “controversy” like Ellen Degeneres, Trevor Noah of the Daily Show and what skit Saturday Night Live will have planned for the “controversy” this Saturday night. As for my office, well, some of us had fun going to the Starbucks around the corner from our office, buying a hot drink, taking a photo of the un-Christian cups, and emailing the photos to everyone in the office with witty comments like: go to Starbucks and buy a holiday drink with the holiday drink discount so you can have your heathen cup of coffee. Others decided we should start placing and image of Krampus (a horned human looking figure in German folklore who punishes misbehaving children during Christmastide) on our red cups but someone on social media had already drawn a very terrifying Krampus on their cup no longer making it original to our office. I personally wrote 666 (sign of the Satan in Revelations) on my cup one evening after work for some real Biblical imagery. Ellen Degeneres made up for the lack of Christmas imagery on the Starbucks she had in hand during her show by wearing a shirt with a Biblical polar bear and creating Christmas glasses while pointing out that elves, polar bears, snowflakes, and snowmen are totally not in the Bible for the Christians out there who might be confused about what Christmas holiday images are in the Bible. Trevor Noah pointed out the cups already had Christmas imagery, after all the cups are red and green for the Christians out there who don’t know this.

Anyways, I am enjoying myself during this “controversy” and the unbounded amounts of laughter it is providing at the expense of uneducated Christians and their materialism. Love your Starbucks your anti-Christmas holiday cup, not hate it!

One thought on “Thoughts on Starbucks’ “un-Christian” Cups Controversy

  1. Betsy Solis and I went to Starbucks in Bell Gardens California today friday the 13th about 9:56pm and asked employee to write Merry Christmas on the cup, he did but in the bottom he surprised us with a 666 which we all know what that is, I went back to speak to the manager and after talking to his employee the employee stated that yes he did that, I asked for an incident report and was given one stating that the employee was playing around, This Is not right, share and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

